Our Team

LWVMA Board of Directors 2015-2017

Jean Cherdack

President | jcherdack@lwvma.org | Local League: Northampton Area

Jean Cherdack was first elected to the LWVMA board and as a trustee of the League of Women Voters Lotte E. Scharfman Memorial Fund in 2013.  Jean has served as co-chair of Membership and Local League Services (MLLS)… Read more »


Marlene O’Brien

marlene1st vice president | mobrien@lwvma.org | Local League: Wellesley

Marlene O’Brien has held leadership positions at each level of the League. She has served as a director of LWVUS, where she sat on the Advocacy, Membership and Development Committees, and also chaired the Bylaws Committee. Read more »


Nancy Brumback

Nancy Brumback2nd vice president | nbrumback@lwvma.org | Local League: Sudbury

Nancy Brumback was first elected an LWVMA director in 2011 and, from 2013-15, served as 2nd vice president, overseeing legislation and program planning and chairing the Legislative Action Committee.  She has served on the nominating, communications, website development, online voters’ guide and bottle bill committees. Read more »


Shelley Drowns

s drownsSecretary | sdrowns@lwvma.org | Local League: Waltham

Shelley Drowns joined the League of Women Voters of Waltham in 2003, eventually becoming a board member and serving as secretary, vice president, and president. She is also a member of the LWVMA healthcare committee and on the board of Mass-Care, a group that supports Medicare for all. Read more »


Andrea Kozinetz

AIK PhotoTreasurer | akozinetz@lwvma.org | Local League: Newton

Andrea Kozinetz has served on the LWVMA board and as a trustee of the League of Women Voters Lotte E. Scharfman Memorial Fund since 2012, and has been treasurer for both organizations since 2013. She chairs LWVMA’s Human Resources Committee…. Read more »


Mary Ann Ashton

Director | mashton@lwvma.org | Local League: Acton Area

Mary Ann Ashton has been active in her Acton-Area League for the last 15 years, and most recently served as co-chair of the Steering Committee. In 2014, Mary Ann represented the League of Women Voters of Massachusetts as a member of the Massachusetts Special Advisory Commission…. Read more »


Roslyn Broch

Roz SL PhotoDirector | rbroch@lwvma.org | Local League: Williamstown

Roslyn (Roz) Broch has been a member of the Williamstown League since 2012, where her primary responsibilities have included updating the chapter’s Facebook page and sending website updates to the state office.  Roz was born and raised in Williamstown and, in 2002, received the Faith Scarborough Award…. Read more »


Linda Matys O’Connell

Linda w_glasses BigDirector | loconnell@lwvma.org| Local League: Northampton Springfield Unit

Linda works professionally as a communications consultant and self-efficacy coach with her company OC2. She is a recent graduate of the influential Western Mass. Women’s Fund’s Leadership Institute for Political and Public Impact…Read more »


Carole Pelchat

carolDirector | cpelchat@lwvma.org | Local League: Greater Haverhill

Carole Pelchat has served on the LWVMA board as legislative director (2006-2007), as vice president and chair of the Program and Action Committee (2007-2013), and currently as legislative director.  She became a League member initially in the Andover/North Andover League. Read more »


Marilyn Peterson

Marilyn PetersonDirector | mpeterson@lwvma.org | Local League: Acton Area

Marilyn Peterson served as LWVMA co-president from 2013 to 2015 and previously served as LWVMA’s Director of Local League Services. During her 30+ years as a member, Marilyn has served her local League in numerous capacities, most recently as co-chair of the Acton Area LWV. Read more »


Launa Zimmaro

launaphotoDirector | lzimmaro@lwvma.org | Local League: Concord-Carlisle

Launa has been a member of the League of Women Voters of Concord-Carlisle since 2008, joining shortly after retiring from a 35-year career as an elementary school educator and principal.  As a member of the LWVMA Legislative Action Committee since 2009, Launa focuses on the environment and energy.  Read more »



Meryl Kessler

Executive Director | mkessler@lwvma.org | Local League: Newton

Meryl Kessler joined LWVMA as Executive Director in November 2013, bringing over 20 years of experience as an attorney, non-profit leader, and educator, as well as a strong commitment to civic education and engagement. Read more »


 Brynne Gorman

Membership and Community Engagement Manager | bgorman@lwvma.org

Brynne Gorman joined LWVMA in April of 2014. Read more »



Martha Maguire

Bookkeeper | mmaguire@lwvma.org

LWVMA Legislative Specialists

Legislative Action Chair | Nancy Brumback
Legislative Director | Carole Pelchat
Affordable Housing, Basic Human Needs| Clare Gordon
Agriculture, Casino Gambling | Louise Haldeman
Child Safety | Palma McLaughlin
Criminal Justice and Courts | Colleen Kirby
Education | Terry Yoffie
Elder Affairs | Pat Costello
Elections and Voting | Linda Freedman
Environment | Launa Zimmaro
Fiscal Policy | June Michaels
Good Governance, Water Resources | Carolyn Lee
Health Care | Janice Goodell
Immigration | Karen Price
Transportation| Lois Levin
Women’s Issues | Jessica Sullivan

To reach any of the legislative specialists, email specialists@lwvma.org.