Front Page News

LWVMA Recognizes “YOUth Should Vote!” Contest Winners at State House Ceremony

June 6, 2016 The League of Women Voters of Massachusetts today honored the creators of the winning videos in the “YOUth Should Vote!” Student Video Contest, sponsored by the League’s Citizen Education Fund, with an award ceremony at the State House!  The League also recognized 10 honorable mention winners.

Representative Cory Atkins shared her thoughts about the videos with the students and spoke about the importance of youth civic engagement. Representative David Linsky, Representative James Arciero and several legislative aides were also on hand to present the students with official citations.

First Place winners- Matthew Walak and Kevin Zheng of Natick High School were presented with a $1,000.00 cash prize and also received an official citation from Senator Richard Ross and Representative David Linsky for their video, The Reminder Machine.

Second Place winners-  Makena Binker-Cosen and TJ Mukundan of Brookline High School were presented with a $500.00 cash prize and received an official citation from Senator Cynthia Creem and Representative Frank Smizik for their video, Big Dreams.

Third Place winners-  Marko Deperalta and Allen Zhou of Bedford High School were presented with a $250.00 cash prize and received an official citation from Senator Michael Barrett and Representative Ken Gordon, for their video Our Right.

Honorable Mention winners were presented with $50.00 cash prizes and received official citations from their legislators. The honorable mention winners were as follows:

Joshua Perlmutter and Kent Perlmutter, Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science, Holliston (A Note to Vote);

Kyle Schoenberg, The Bromfield School, Harvard (Dreams);

Justin Roy, Masconomet Regional High School, Middleton (Go Vote);

Samantha Yates, Ann Hasz, Nicole Fiske, Emily Imbrogna, Ben Church, Kevin Burke, Littleton High School (Have a Voice);

Gabe Mangrum, Malachi Waller, Trey Carter, CJ Gallagher, Obed Konadu, Aaron Adu, and Zane Freeman, Doherty Memorial High School, Worcester (I Can Pick);

Allie Smith, Lydia Flaherty, and Haley Donovan, Millis High School (Lucky Kate);

Karine Santos, Gabriel Nieves, Edward Rivera, Symphony Dunn, Tehjia Kerr, Reno Joseph, Javon Robinson, and Laporsha Hickson, Madison Park High School, Boston (Stop Complaining, Vote);

Rachel Schultze, Natick High School (The Power of Voting);

John Stanley, Lucas Quintero, and Amelia Murray, Hingham High School (Toothpaste);

Nicholas Charde and Owen Schmidt, Concord-Carlisle Regional High School (We the People).

Support for this program was provided by the Lincoln and Therese Filene Charitable Foundation and the Salem Five Charitable Foundation.