Front Page News, Press Releases

Massachusetts League of Women Voters Announces New Leadership Team

BOSTON, MA/June 30, 2017-Mary Ann Ashton of Acton and Linda Matys O’Connell of Springfield begin their two-year term as co-presidents of the League of Women Voters of Massachusetts (LWVMA) July 1.  Ashton and O’Connell were elected, along with other LWVMA board officers and directors, at the biennial LWVMA Convention in Framingham this spring.

The other Massachusetts League officers and their local Leagues are Marilyn Peterson, Acton Area, first vice president; Lee Bona, Worcester Area, second vice president; and Andrea Kozinetz, Newton, treasurer.

Elected as LWVMA directors are Kate Boland, Hingham; Nancy Brumback, Sudbury; Kris Eastman, Marion-Mattapoisett-Rochester; Scotti Finnegan, Cape Cod Area; Donna Hooper, Lexington; Karen Price, Needham; and Judy Zaunbrecher, Concord-Carlisle.

The Massachusetts League’s priorities over the coming two years will be improving the state voting system, including lobbying for the implementation of automatic voter registration; advocating for campaign finance reform; promoting civic education and civil discourse; educating voters about climate change and the environment; and addressing issues of justice and equality, including criminal justice reform.

LWVMA includes 44 local Leagues across the state. The League of Women Voters of Massachusetts is a non-partisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government and works to increase understanding of major public policy issues.

Additional information is available at