Press Releases

Massachusetts League of Women Voters Elects Co-Presidents, Officers, and Directors

BOSTON—Anne Borg of Newton and Jean Cherdack of Ashfield have been elected co-presidents of the League of Women Voters of Massachusetts for the next two years.

Borg is a member of the Newton League, and Cherdack is a member of the Northampton Area League.  They were elected at the state League’s recent convention in West Springfield.

The other state League officers and their local Leagues are Marlene O’Brien, Wellesley, first vice president; Dee Ortner, Concord-Carlisle, second vice president; Karen Price, Needham, third vice president; Shelley Drowns, Waltham, secretary; and Andrea Kozinetz, Newton, treasurer.

Elected as LWVMA directors are Mary Ann Ashton of Acton Area, Roslyn Broch of Williamstown, Nancy Brumback of Sudbury, Melisa Hollenback of Shrewsbury, Carole Pelchat of Greater Haverill, Terry Yoffie of Newton, and Launa Zimmaro of Concord-Carlisle.

The convention also adopted plans for a major voter registration and voter turnout effort centered on the 2016 election and for a strong program promoting civic education and civic engagement

The state League’s other priorities over the coming two years will be the issues of money in politics, climate change and the environment, and addressing income inequality.

The LWV of Massachusetts includes 45 local Leagues across the state.

The League of Women Voters of Massachusetts is a non-partisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government and works to increase understanding of major public policy issues.  Additional information is available at